Research Guides: Sociology Course Guides: SOC 492

Sociology Research

Sociological Abstracts Provides access to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX Full Text Abstracts and links to articles in anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles back to 1940.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Related Databases

Specialized databases in fields related to public policy and poverty research.

ERIC (via EBSCO) Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch 40,000 full text articles from more than 100 international journals, books, magazines and newsletters, plus unpublished papers and conference proceedings and nearly 1,000 special reports devoted to gender and women's issues. Includes articles from the Ethnic NewsWatch database on ethnic and minority women and women of color. Coverage: 1978 to present.GenderWatch allows up to two simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is a resource for finding nursing and allied health literature: journals, books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, software, research instruments, nursing dissertations, evidence based care sheets, etc. and provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Coverage: 1937 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication Source Provides articles in areas related to communication and mass media. Originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher Find in-depth coverage of current political events. Each issue provides a summary, the pros-cons, a chronology, and a lengthy bibliography to more sources. 1991 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts Comprehensive international coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines. Coverage: 1968 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts in Social Gerontology Current Literature on Aging sponsored by The National Council on the Aging, Inc. (NCOA), a private nonprofit organization which serves as a resource for information, research, training, technical assistance, advocacy, and leadership on aging. Founded in 1950 NCOA has a broad national membership of professionals, volunteers, and organizations that work with, for, and on behalf of older persons. Updated: Quarterly
- This link opens in a new window
Public Administration Abstracts Articles in areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline, like urbanism, transportation, police administration, recreation, housing, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Slide Presentation

Soc 492 15 from CSU Long Beach

Statistical data

Public Policy Research Guide A variety of sources for government data regarding all areas of public policy
Statistics and Datasets by California State University, Long Beach Library Collection of links to statistics including elections & voting, polls and surveys, immigration, etc.

Statistical Abstract of the United States A summary of statistics on the United States social, political, and economy. Majority of the data is over time. The data tables provide source information for further research.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Sociology Course Guides: SOC 492

Sociology Research

Related Databases

Slide Presentation

Statistical data

Ask the Sociology Librarian a question