Research Guides: Sociology Course Guides: SOC317

International research

SocINDEX Full Text Abstracts and links to articles in anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles back to 1940.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts Provides access to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews Provides critical reviews of over fifty science, medicine, and social science topics. Reviews include what is supported, what is controversial and presents historical context and highlights the major questions that remain. Some coverage back to 1932.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PRISMA Database Includes 165 full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

CountryWatch In-depth reviews of 191 countries, including geographical, political, economic, corporate, and environmental information. Updated with wire service news.
- This link opens in a new window
Military & Government Collection A collection of articles, government documents and images on international affairs, military and security issues, political science, law enforcement and technology of weapons from 1960 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

International News Research Guide from CSULB

Business Source Premier Contains coverage for more than 2,300 journals covering a wide range of business topics. In addition, the databases includes access to company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fitch Connect Covers up to 175 markets worldwide. It provides daily alerts and news stories, country risk ratings, economic analyses and forecasts. It also contains market research and forecast reports covering about 14 industries in 55 countries and a database of thousands of multinational companies.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EconLit Abstracts that link to scholarly journals, book chapters, and dissertations on topics like accounting, economics, finance, international economics, labor, population forecasting, etc. 1969 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

GreenFILE Provides articles on the of human impact to the environment, including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
Agricultural and Environmental Science Collection Abstracts and citations from over 6000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications in agriculture; air quality; bacteriology; ecology; ecotourism; energy resources; environmental impact statements; hazardous waste; human population dynamics; industrial hygiene; microbiology; pollution; risk assessment; and toxicology. Coverage: 1967 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Westlaw Full-text to federal and state cases, statutes, regulations and administrative codes, as well as international law, law encyclopedias, and law reviews. Business news and company legal tax filing information.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

International Legal Materials
Index to international decision, treaties and agreements, search for primary documents.

Military & Government Collection A collection of articles, government documents and images on international affairs, military and security issues, political science, law enforcement and technology of weapons from 1960 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts Provides access to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX Full Text Abstracts and links to articles in anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles back to 1940.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts Indexes the last 60 years of “modern history” (historical scope, post 1450 to date) and covers over 2000 scholarly journals, books, and Ph.D. dissertations . Does not cover the U.S. and Canada (use America History & Life)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

slides

Sociology 317 from Tiffini Travis

Useful Library Links

Reference List: Basic Rules-APA from OWL at Purdue
ASA citation examples from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University
MLA Style Guide (Purdue University)
Zotero Citation Management Tool Zotero is a citation management tool that helps you to collect, manage and cite citation records with ease. It works well as a Firefox plug-in or a stand-alone for Firefox, Google Chrome and Safari browsers.

Country Guides

CountryWatch In-depth reviews of 191 countries, including geographical, political, economic, corporate, and environmental information. Updated with wire service news.
- This link opens in a new window

Political Handbook of the World by Sage/CQ Press (U.S.) Background on politics by country
Conflict Risk Assessments by Carleton University (Canada) Country risk assessments for many countries.
Countries & Continents by U.S. Institute of Peace Information on places that have conflict.
Countries and Areas by U.S. Dept of State and Diplomatic Corp. Provides information on countries and regions.Click on the link to Countries and Regions and select a country to search.
Country and Region Profiles by Britian's Institute of Development Studies Covers countries and regions of the world.
Country Profiles by BCC: British Broadcasting Corporation Coverage on history, politics and economic background of countries and territories.
Country Resources by Arms Control Association (US based) Data on specific countries that possess nuclear weapons and assessments of their weapons stockpiles.
Country Studies by U.S. Library of Congress
Country Studies by OECD: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development OECD countries only.
globalEdge by Michigan State University (U.S.) Country profiles geared towards business professionals.
Region Reports by Carnegie Endowment for International Peace (International Offices) Reports on foreign policy around the world.
World Bank Country Documents Reports on countries covered by World Bank.
World Factbook by U.S. CIA U.S. based and considered the standard to provide information on countries and regions.
Country Indicators for Foreign Policy (CIFP) from Carleton University (Canada) note other studies on left hand side.