Research Guides: Sociology Course Guides: SOC 488H

Sociology Research

Sociological Abstracts Provides access to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX Full Text Abstracts and links to articles in anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles back to 1940.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Additional Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete A comprehensive business database with over 3,200 journals covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. It consists of: ABI Global, ABI Archive, ABI Images, ABI Trade and Industry, Dateline, Business Dissertations, Hoovers, Oxford Research, Wall Street Journal, SnapShots North American, and EIU. Coverage: 1971 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is a resource for finding nursing and allied health literature: journals, books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, software, research instruments, nursing dissertations, evidence based care sheets, etc. and provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Coverage: 1937 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication Source Provides articles in areas related to communication and mass media. Originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coronavirus Research Database ProQuest built this database in response to the rapidly growing need for authoritative content related to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). The company is working together with institutions all over the world to offer support as they navigate through the coronavirus pandemic. This launch of the Coronavirus Research Database is the latest in a series of programs to help librarians, faculty and students.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Comprehensive international coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines. Coverage: 1968 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and Theses Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC (via EBSCO) Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch 40,000 full text articles from more than 100 international journals, books, magazines and newsletters, plus unpublished papers and conference proceedings and nearly 1,000 special reports devoted to gender and women's issues. Includes articles from the Ethnic NewsWatch database on ethnic and minority women and women of color. Coverage: 1978 to present.GenderWatch allows up to two simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Google Scholar

Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 Primary sources covering 20th-century human migration, including firsthand accounts of post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States, the first Gulf War and more. Sources include radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, and government documents gathered daily by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA. It covers issues such as xenophobia, religious movements, border issues, and the treatment of refugees.
- This link opens in a new window
Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies This collection examines prison populations and their relationship to major prison labor systems; and how correctional facilities may serve as central service providers for those with mental health issues.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
APA PsycINFO Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Public Administration Abstracts Articles in areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline, like urbanism, transportation, police administration, recreation, housing, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Services Abstracts Provides abstracts from 1,300+ journals and dissertations in fields of social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development. Has automatic citation builder. 1979 to present. Abstracts available January 1994 - current.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

SOC488H by tiffini.travis

Ask the Sociology Librarian a question

Useful Library Links

Reference List: Basic Rules-APA from OWL at Purdue
ASA citation examples from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University
Zotero Citation Management Tool Zotero is a citation management tool that helps you to collect, manage and cite citation records with ease. It works well as a Firefox plug-in or a stand-alone for Firefox, Google Chrome and Safari browsers.
BibGuru (ASA)
Use this for converting your journal citations into ASA.
more...less...
Select the option for "Articles" and paste in the article title (from the databases) you want to generate a reference for.

Sample Thesis

Dissertations and Theses Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Honors Thesis