Modern U.S. History, Imperial, Colonial Context
Library Resources (Fall 2020)
Greg Armento, History Librarian (562-985-4367) email@example.com
DUE TO THE COVID PHYSICAL CAMPUS CLOSURE, MOST IF NOT ALL IN-HOUSE AND IN-PERSON SERVICES ARE CURTAILED. THIS HISTORY GUIDE WILL BE A WORK IN PROGRESS AS THE SITUATION CHANGES. CHECK FOR CURRENT LIBRARY ONLINE ACCESS OPTIONS.
UNIVERSITY LIBRARY PAGE has an overview of research services available in the library
SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIAS and REFERENCE MATERIAL
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy. Online, 2002
Encyclopedia of American Immigration. 4 print vols. 2001.
Encyclopedia of American Studies. 4 print vols. 2001.
Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies. 1 print vol. 2001
Encyclopedia of Revolutions and Revolutionaries: From Anarchism to Zhou Enlai. 1 print vol. 1996.
Encyclopedia of the Cold War: a Political, Social and Military History. 5 print vols. 2008.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism Since 1450. Online, 2007.
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations. 4 print vols. 1997
Encyclopedia of Law & Society : American and Global Perspectives. 3 print vols. 2007
Historical Encyclopedia of U.S. Presidential Use of Force 1979-2000. Online. 2001
International Security and the United States: An Encyclopedia. 2 print vols. 2008.
Global Connections : America's Role In the 21st Century. 1 print vol. 2002.
FINDING BOOKS IN ONESEARCH
- If you discover a CSULB owned print book in OneSearch, we can get to you in a week. But if you want online books only, select "Full Text Online" option, Review this graphic, or you can review this 4 minute tutorial.
OneSearch Search Techniques
- If you are looking for a phrase "postcolonial relations" put your terms in quotation marks. It will force word adjacency, in that order.
- If you want word variants, use an asterisk* at the end of a word. Entering imperial* will produce imperial, imperialism, imperialist.
- If you want synonyms, put similar terms in parenthesis and use capital OR. (hegemony OR "post imperial*" OR postcolonial OR globalism)
To get results with higher relevancy to you topic, use subject keyword searches. These may produce results with higher relevancy to your search.
FINDING PRIMARY HISTORY BOOKS IN ONESEARCH
- These subject keywords will tend to find primary historical content.
sources personal narratives biography correspondence interviews
letters papers facsimiles pictorial oral history diaries
Another way to use OneSearch for primary history is to find the oldest material, or material published around the time, (contemporary to) your historical event. Try searching for pioneers, politicians and historical figures as AUTHORS or SUBJECTS. Then sort or limit your results by date to locate items published at the same time as the historical event or written during the person's life. These items MAY be primary.
FINDING FULL TEXT PRIMARY MATERIALS IN GOOGLE BOOKS
Google has scanned millions of books from libraries and institutes around the world. Generally, books published before the early 1920s are in the public domain and freely readable online, depending on Google's somewhat obscure criteria.
BOOK AND JOURNAL LOANING OPTIONS FROM OTHER LIBRARIES
- CSU+ To rapidly get books that we don't have, (within 2-4 days) from other CSU libraries. Due to Covid, this service may be unavailable. See Current Library Services.
- LINK+ is similar to CSU+ but includes more than CSU Libraries. Service may be unavailable for a while
- BEACH REACH Use to get journal articles we don't own delivered rapidly to your desktop
IN-DEPTH CSULB HISTORY RESEARCH GUIDES
IDENTIFYING/LOCATING ARCHIVAL MATERIAL
ArchivesGrid will find archival content across the nation
RESEARCH DATABASES: JOURNALS, NEWSPAPERS Etc.
Many of the databases below contain full text, or will link (2 or 3 clicks away) to the article at another site. Look for this Those listed with RED Beginning-Ending Dates suggest primary content
Academic Search Complete Scholarly comprehensive interdisciplinary coverage from 1960s to date.
- American Politics and Society (History Vault). 1930s-1980s A compilation of documents from Roosevelt to Nixon.
Dissertations and Theses Full text access to thousands of PhD dissertations back to the early 1900s
Global Newsstream. Full text to hundreds of English language newspapers back to the 1990s.
Historical Abstracts (For world history) and America History & Life (for U.S. History) The premier periodical indexes for scholarly research in history. Article citations go back to the 1950s
- Historical Los Angeles Times, 1881-1995 Full text online coverage of the L.A.T.
- Historical New York Times, 1851-2018 Full text online coverage of the N.Y.T.
History Vault 1810-1975. Full text documents on U.S history including Women's Studies, Vivil Rights, Indians and the American West, American Politics from Truman to Kennedy, Labor Unions and the Black Freedom Struggle.
- Humanities and Social Science Index Retrospective, 1900-1983. Scholarly articles.
- Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of An Alternative Press. 1950s to date. Underground, Radical, & Protest Publications.
- JSTOR Online Journal Archive Archive of core scholarly journal literature in the social sciences and humanities dating back to the 1850s.
- Meet the Press. 1947-2013. Watch real time public affairs news interviews
- News Policy & Politics Magazine Archive 1918-2015. Popular magazines of the 20th Century including Newsweek.
- Politics Database. Policy reports, think tank documents, political science journals, country reports, government documents.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective 1900-1983. Covers popular magazines.
- Times (Of London) 1790-2010
Westlaw. Look for NEWS section. Covers worldwide newspaper coverage, including some foreign language titles, back to the 1980s
CITING HISTORICAL MATERIALS
GOOGLE SEARCH: TECHNIQUES AND TIPS
- In GOOGLE searches place “phrases in quotes” to force word adjacency
- Use OR (capitalized) to find synonyms (presidents OR prime ministers OR premiers)
- Use domain stems (site:edu; site:org) to find sites in specific Internet realms
- Truncation symbols (e.g. the asterisk*) does not work in GOOGLE
To find types of domains: type in
- site:edu (to find sites located at colleges, universities)
- site:org (to find sites at nonprofit organizations)
site:gov (to find government sites, government documents)
site:int (to find international organizations, UN-type)
site:ru (stands for Russia. Use two letter country codes for domains in a country.
Use GOOGLE SCHOLAR to find scholarly journal articles. If you do this on campus, you may be able to link to full text articles we subscribe to online.
ONLINE DOCUMENTS COVERING U.S. POLITICAL HISTORY