History Course Guides: History 673 (Imperial Histories of the United States)

UNIVERSITY LIBRARY PAGE provides an overview of services available in the library.

REFERENCE MATERIAL

• Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy (online encyclopedia) 

• Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy : Studies of the Principal Movements and Ideas. (3 vols. in print)

• Encyclopedia of the Cold War : a political, social, and military history A 5 volume encyclopedia

• Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations 4 vols

• Global Connections : America's Role In the 21st Century

• International Security and the United States: An Encyclopedia 2 vols

• Regional Guide to International Conflict and Management from 1945-2003.

OneSearch (CSULB LIBRARY CATALOG) Access to our 1.25 million University Library books, some over 500 years old.

• For more precise results, try searching keywords with the prefix D: in front of the term. You’ll get items with higher relevancy. 

d:soviet union    d:foreign relations    d:germany  d:intelligence service

• Use also d:cold war and add a country or region

d:cold war d:france

• Search for d:sources to find books that have documents in them or d:personal narratives for first hand accounts

d:united states    d:foreign relations    d:sources

• Search for, politicians and historians by AUTHOR or SUBJECT using the dropdown in ADVANCED SEARCH. Search for or Allen Dulles or Henry Kissinger as keyword searches (using "Any Field" in the dropdown list) to list books by publication date.

BOOK AND JOURNAL LOANING OPTIONS FROM OTHER LIBRARIES

• CSU+ To rapidly get books from other CSU libraries that we don’t have or that are out.
• BeachReach Our interlibrary loan service for journals and books not in CSU+.  

Both services described here

SPECIFIC CSULB HISTORY SUBJECT PAGES

• World History
• U.S. History
• Primary History Sources
• International Studies

RETROSPECTIVE (HISTORIC FULL-TEXT) ARTICLE DATABASES

• Historical Los Angeles Times, 1881-1990 Full text online coverage of the L.A.T.
• Historical New York Times, 1851-2009 Full text online coverage of the N.Y.T.
• Essay and General Literature Retrospective, 1890-1983. Articles in edited books.
• JSTOR Online Journal Archive A full text archive of core scholarly journal literature in the social sciences and humanities dating back to the 1850s.  
• Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890 -1983 Covers popular magazines from the period.
• Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective 1907 - 1983 Covers 1200 scholarly journal content. 

CURRENT RESEARCH DATABASES

To find the articles in databases, look for the link in each citation. It may look like this   It is a shortcut to the article online. If we don’t have the article in the building, or online use BeachReach to rapidly get journal articles we don’t have, from other libraries.

• Academic Search Complete Accesses nearly 6000 journals. Provides comprehensive interdisciplinary coverage 1990 to date.
• America History & Life (for U.S. History). The premier periodical indexe for scholarly research in United States history. Article citations go back to the 1950s.
• Dissertations and Theses  Provides full text access to thousands of PhD dissertations back to the 1960s.
• Handbook of Latin American Studies Online A multidisciplinary online bibliography of Latin America covering the social sciences & humanities, dating back to 1936.
• Historical Abstracts (For world history) The premier periodical indexes for scholarly research in world history. Article citations go back to the 1950s.
• Guide to News Sources Worldwide  newspaper coverage back to the 1980s.

CITING HISTORICAL MATERIALS, STYLES SEARCH ENGINES

• Citing Archival Sources  
• Purdue OWL on Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition

GOOGLE SEARCH TOOLS FOR FINDING SCHOLARLY INTERNET RESOURCES

Google google.com Search Tips--to find sites at types of domains: type in

 

Use domain stems to find sites in specific internet realms

• site:edu (to find sites located at colleges, universities)
• site:org (to find sites at nonprofit organizations)
• site:gov (to find government sites, government documents)
• site:ru (stands for Russia. Use two letter country codes for domains in a country.
• Put “phrases in quotes” to force word adjacency

Google Books  will allow you to read chapters of selected books. You may find be able to find these in OneSearch or LINK+.

Google Scholar  to find scholarly journal articles. If you do this in the library, you may find full text articles you can open.

ONLINE DOCUMENTS COVERING HIISTORY OF US FOREIGN RELATIONS

• CIA Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room declassified documents
• Wilson Center Digital Archive "The Digital Archive contains declassified historical materials from archives around the world, much of it in English translation."
• FBI Freedom of Information Act "Vault". Declassified documents viewable online.
• Foreign Relations of the United States Selected documents available online. And in library since 1941 under KX233 .A3.
• National Security Archive at George Washington University (legacy site)
• CIS U.S. Serial Set Index (J74 C65). An index for finding early documents of the U.S. Congress, hearings, reports, and executive branch publications.
• The U.S. Serial Set itself is in several locations. From 1789-1817 it is available online and is called the American State Papers  The remainder of what we have is stored in bound or microfilm volumes. Please see me if you have trouble navigating it.
• Public Papers of the Presidents. Presidential papers since 1929. Public addresses, press conferences, official statements and other documents are available for U.S. presidents since the Hoover Administration in 1929 to the present. Selective documents, statements and addresses are available back to George Washington.  
• Avalon Project at Yale Law School - Documents in law, history and diplomacy by Yale Law School 

  Search by topic or browse full-text primary documents from the 18th to 21st century on things like Arab-Israeli conflict, cold war, diplomacy, and peace treaties etc.

• FrontlineDiplomacy: the foreign affairs oral history collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training by the Library of Congress Makes available interview transcripts from the oral history archives of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training (ADST).  These transcripts present a window into the lives of U.S. diplomats and the major diplomatic crisis and issues that the United States faced during the second half of the 20th century and the early part of the 21st.