History Course Guides: History 499 (Education and Politics)
History 499 Research Guide
History 499 (Politics & Education)
Library Resources (Fall 2022)
Greg Armento, History Librarian greg.armento@csulb.edu
Contact me via E-mail for research consultation
CHECK HERE FOR CURRENT LIBRARY ONLINE ACCESS OPTIONS.
UNIVERSITY LIBRARY PAGE Is the place to start. It contains an overview of library research services available.
FINDING BOOKS IN ONESEARCH
-
If you discover a CSULB owned print book in OneSearch, we can get to you in a week. But if you want online books only, select "Full Text Online" option, review this graphic, or you can review this 4 minute tutorial.
Try some of these subject keywords in OneSearch subject keyword search. You’ll get items with higher relevancy. Note that the asterisk* at the end of a word will find teach* (teach OR teachers OR teaches OR teaching)
universit* college* education* school* teach* instruction* curricul*
Mix one term above with histor* and polit* and US: Example: education* and politic* and hist* and united states
BOOK AND JOURNAL LOANING OPTIONS FROM OTHER LIBRARIES
- CSU+ To rapidly get books that we don't have, (within 2-4 days) from other CSU libraries.
- BEACH REACH Use to get journal articles we don't own delivered rapidly to your desktop.
- See also list of Education Databases for related education research
- See also list of Political Science Databases for related topics
- See also list of Primary Databases for more original historical content
RESEARCH ARTICLE DATABASES
Many of the databases below contain full text, or will link (2 or 3 clicks away) to the article at another site. Look for this 
Databases listed with RED Beginning-Ending Dates suggest primary content with contemporary accounts of a historical event.
- Academic Search Complete Accesses nearly 6000 journals. Provides comprehensive interdisciplinary coverage 1990 to date.
- American Periodicals 1740 - 1900 Full text popular and scholarly periodicals including ads.
- California Digital Newspaper Collection. 1840s to Present. Has full text facsimile coverage of California newspapers.
- Education Index Retrospective 1929-1983
- ERIC 1966 to date. Massive database of educational research.
- Education Magazine Archive 1910-2015. To find, go to ERIC above. Click on "Change Databases", and mark box reading "Education Magazine Archive"
- Global Newsstream Thousands of U.S and international newspapers, full text.
- Historical Abstracts (HA) for World History; and America History & Life (AHL) For U.S. History. The two premier indexes for scholarly research in history. Articles go back to the 1950s.
- HA and AHL are possibly the most the important research database for finding scholarly historical periodical content. See this 4 minute tutorial on how to search for a scholarly article limited to historic time period..
- Historical Los Angeles Times, 1881-1997 Full text online coverage of the L.A.T.
- Historical New York Times, 1851-2017
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1900-1984 Covers 1200 scholarly journals.
- Independent Voices: Open Access Alternative Press 1950s-1990s Underground (radical) press, alternative opinions, college newspapers
- Meet the Press 1947-2013. News Interviews
- News Policy & Politics Magazine Archive 1918-2015. Popular magazines of the 20th Century including Newsweek.
- Opposing Viewpoints. Popular and scholarly full text articles on pro/con topics.
- Politics Database: Scholarly and popular articles on policy, administration, politics.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 Popular magazines.
- SocIndex Wide variety of social science research topics
- Sociological Abstracts Research in sociology.
GOOGLE TIPS AND TECHNIQUES
- For word adjacency, phrases, put your topic in "quotation marks”
- Example "school desegregation"
- The asterisk* (for truncation) educat* gets educate, education, educational, educators. But it wont work in a google search).
- To get word variants you must use capitalized OR. Enclose in parentheses.
- Example: (sports OR games OR athletics)
- Google Scholar to find scholarly journal articles. If you do this in the library, you may find full text articles you can open.
CITING HISTORICAL MATERIALS
- See our library's citation help page.
- CSULB's Department of History uses the Chicago/Turabian Notes & Bibliography Style
- Citation and Bibliographic Management Options: To create consistent citations web-based bibliography. You to create a personal database of references for research use and in writing papers.