Research Guides: History Course Guides: History 499 (Popular Culture &amp; Sport)

History 499 Research Guide

History 499 (Popular Culture & Sport)

Library Resources (Spring 2024)

Chloé Pascual, History Librarian Chloe.Pascual@csulb.edu

Contact me via E-mail for research consultation, (in person or zoom)

UNIVERSITY LIBRARY PAGE Is the place to start. It contains an overview of library research services available.

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

African American Culture: An Encyclopedia of People, Traditions, and Customs. Online Encyclopedia, 2020.
African Americans in Sports. Online Encyclopedia, 2015
Baseball: An Encyclopedia of Popular Culture. Online Encyclopedia
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: 1st Floor Reference ; ML102.P66 C66 2003
Dictionary of Sports Studies. Online, 2010.
Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society. Online Encyclopedia, 2009
Encyclopedia of Leisure and Outdoor Recreation. Online Encyclopedia, 2003
Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America. Online Encyclopedia, 2004
Encyclopedia of World Sport: From Ancient Times to the Present. Online Encyclopedia 1996
Encyclopedia of Women in Sports. Online Encyclopedia, 1996
Grove Art Online. Online Encyclopedia, 2015.
Native Americans in Sports. Online Encyclopedia, 2015
Supplementary Dictionary of Sports Personalities. Online Encyclopedia, 2013
Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives: Sports Figures. Online Encyclopedia, 2002.
Sports Culture: An A - Z Guide: 2nd Floor Stacks GV706.5 .C383 2000
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture. Online Encyclopedia, 2013

FINDING BOOKS IN ONESEARCH

Try some of these subject keywords in OneSearch subject keyword search. You’ll get items with higher relevancy. Note that the asterisk* at the end of a word will find related terms such as sport* (sports or sporting or sportsmen, etc)

sport* athlet* soccer music cuisine film rugby

Mix one term above with the a secondary topic, a country: Example: soccer and politic*

BOOK AND JOURNAL LOANING OPTIONS FROM OTHER LIBRARIES

CSU+ To rapidly get books that we don't have, (within 2-4 days) from other CSU libraries.
LINK+ is similar to CSU+ but includes more than CSU Libraries. Service may be unavailable for a while.
BEACH REACH Use to get journal articles we don't own delivered rapidly to your desktop.

RESEARCH ARTICLE DATABASES

Many of the databases below contain full text, or will link (2 or 3 clicks away) to the article at another site. Look for this Databases listed with RED Beginning-Ending Dates suggest primary content with contemporary accounts of a historical event.

Academic Search Complete Accesses nearly 6000 journals. Provides comprehensive interdisciplinary coverage 1990 to date.
American Periodicals 1740 - 1900 Full text popular and scholarly periodicals including ads.
Business Source Premier May cover economic, business aspects of sports.
California Digital Newspaper Collection. 1840s to Present. Has full text facsimile coverage of California newspapers.
Communication and Mass Media Complete Covers scholarly journal articles in areas related to communication and mass media.
Getty Images Contains thousands of journalistic and artistic images that can be viewed for free. Great for primary visual sources
Global Newsstream Thousands of U.S and international newspapers, full text.
Historical Abstracts (HA) for World History; and America History & Life (AHL) For U.S. History. The two premier indexes for scholarly research in history. Articles go back to the 1950s.
- HA and AHL are possibly the most the important research database for finding scholarly historical periodical content. See this 4 minute tutorial on how to search for a scholarly article limited to historic time period..
Historical Los Angeles Times, 1881-1997 Full text online coverage of the L.A.T.
Historical New York Times, 1851-20 17
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1900-1984 Covers 1200 scholarly journals.
Independent Voices: Open Access Alternative Press 1950s-1990s Underground (radical) press, alternative opinions, college newspapers
JSTOR Online Journal Archive 1850s To Date A full text archive of core scholarly journal literature in the social sciences and humanities dating back to the 1850s.
News Policy & Politics Magazine Archive 1918-2015. Popular magazines of the 20th Century including Newsweek.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 Popular magazines.
SPORTS Discus Research in sports, games, athletics.
SocInde x Wide variety of social science research topics
Sociological Abstracts Research in sociology.
Times (OF London) 1785-2010. Full text of London Times

GOOGLE TIPS AND TECHNIQUES

For word adjacency, phrases, put your topic in "quotation marks”
- Example "soccer culture"
The asterisk* (for truncation) won't work in GOOGLE.
To get word variants you must use capitalized OR. Enclose in parentheses.
- Example: (sports OR games OR athletics)
Google Books may allow you to read chapters of selected books. You may find the full book in OneSearch or CSU+
Google Scholar to find scholarly journal articles. If you do this in the library, you may find full text articles you can open.

CITING HISTORICAL MATERIALS

See our library's citation help page.
CSULB's Department of History uses the Chicago/Turabian Notes & Bibliography Style
Citation and Bibliographic Management Options: To create consistent citations web-based bibliography. You to create a personal database of references for research use and in writing papers.