University Library PAGE Is the place to start. It contains an overview of library research services available.
SEE THIS LIST OF REFERENCE ENCYCLOPEDIAS (PRINT & ONLINE) RELATING TO LATIN (OR) SOUTH AMERICA.
FINDING PRIMARY CONTENT IN BOOKS
To find CSULB Books, use OneSearch Advanced Search
Search for pioneers, politicians and historians as an AUTHOR or SUBJECT or KEYWORD ANYWHERE. Then sort or limit your results by date to locate items published at the same time as the historical event or written during the person's life. These items MAY be primary.
Search Tips
To get results with higher relevancy to you topic, use subject keyword searches. These may produce results with higher relevancy to your search.
These subject keywords will tend to find content with emphasis on political disturbances
revolution* counterrevolution* revolt* uprising* protest* civil war strikes war independence insurrection political movement* activis*
Combine one of these terms above with a country or geographical region of Latin America:
If you want to find more results on any of your topics, check the box that reads Books & Media (all CSU) and you will find many more relevant items loanable from other CSU's.
Book and Journal Loaning Options from other libraries
These 2 services described here
Research Databases
To find articles in many of our databases, look for the SFX icon in each citation. It may look like this 
It’s a shortcut to finding the article online.
Academic Search Complete Accesses nearly 6000 full text interdisciplinary journals. Coverage: 1990 to date.
America History & Life (for U.S. History) and Historical Abstracts (for World History). These are the two premier scholarly periodical indexes for historical content published since the mid 1950s. Both databases may be searched simultaneously.
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Content ranges from prehistoric times to the present.
Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound. Includes primary research material on Latin America.
Getty Images. Contains thousands of journalistic and artistic images that can be viewed for free. Great for primary visual sources
Handbook of Latin American History Online. Produced by the Library of Congress, contains links (no full text) to scholarly journal articles and books, and book chapters..
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980. Full text historic newspapers in Spanish and a few in English
Prisma/ Hispanic American Periodicals Index Scholarly and popular journal articles relating to Latin America.
Historical Los Angeles Times, 1881-1997 Complete full text online coverage of every article, ad, comic, classified, editorial, photograph.
Historical New York Times, 1851-2010 Complete full text online coverage of the NYT.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective 1907-1983 Covers 1200 scholarly journals. Use it for finding coverage of worldwide events in the 20th Century.
Independent Voices: Open Access Alternative Press. "Underground" and counterculture newspapers from the 1950s to the 2000s.
JSTOR Journal Archive An archive of core scholarly full text journals going back to the 1800s. Contains selected journals in the social sciences and humanities.
LatAm-Studies; Estudios Latinamericanos Wide array of scholarly social science and humanities topics from 46 Latin American countries.
Latino American Experience. Online research, articles and journals regarding Latin America.
Latin American Video In Video. Documentaries, histories.
Latino Literature, Prose, writings, literature, poetry
Politics Database Political news, research worldwide.
Project Muse Contains over 200 full text, scholarly, frequently used journals in the humanities and social sciences journals from the 1960s to date.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective, 1890-1983. Covers popular magazines from 1890-1983. Good for finding popular coverage of historic events in the 20th Cent
Revolution and Protest Online Revolutions and protests, from the 18th to 20th centuries.
FINDING ARCHIVES, RARE MATERIAL
ArchivesGrid includes over 4 million records describing archival materials, historical documents, personal papers, family histories, from over 1000 different archives.
Citing Historical Materials
Google tips and techniques
site:edu (to find sites located at colleges, universities)
site:org (to find sites at nonprofit organizations)
site:gov (to find government sites, government documents)
site:ru (stands for Russia. Use two letter country codes for domains in a country.