History Research, Library Resources (Fall 2020)
Fall Online (E-mail, Chat or Zoom) Office Hours, Mon, 5-6 pm; Tues 9-10 am
Due TO Covid physical campus closure, most if not all in-house and in-person services are curtailed. this History guide will be a work in progress as the situation changes. check for current library online access options.
University Library PAGE Is the place to start. It contains an overview of library research services available.
OTHER CSULB RESEARCH GUIDES RELATING TO CONSUMER CAPITALISM
FINDING BOOKS IN ONESEARCH
OneSearch Search Tips
- If you are looking for a phrase "consumer capitalism" put your terms in quotation marks. It will force word adjacency in that order.
- If you want word variants, use an asterisk * at the end of a word. Entering histor* will produce history, histories, historians, historiography, historical, etc.
- If you want synonyms, put similar terms in parenthesis and use capital OR: Try ("consumer capitalism" OR "consumer behavior")
Book and Journal Loaning Options from other libraries
- CSU+ To rapidly get books that we don't have, (within 2-4 days) from other CSU libraries. Due to Covid, this service may be unavailable. See Current Library Services.
- LINK+ is similar to CSU+ but includes more than CSU Libraries. Service may be unavailable for a while
- BEACH REACH Use to get journal articles we don't own delivered rapidly to your desktop.
YOU MUST GET TO KNOW THESE TWO IMPORTANT DATABASES FOR SCHOLARLY HISTORY RESEARCH
These premier scholarly indexes for historical contain articles and books published since the mid 1950s. Both databases may be searched simultaneously. See this 4 minute tutorial on how to search.
OTHER Research Databases
Many of the databases below contain full text, or will link (2 or 3 clicks away) to the article at another site. Look for this Those listed with RED Beginning-Ending Dates suggest primary content.
- Academic Search Complete Comprehensive interdisciplinary index to popular and scholarly journals.
- American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1940 Contains over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals.
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender, 1940s-1990s. Original full text archive content, newspapers, periodicals, documents.
- Business Source Premier Business research database
- California Newspaper Archive. 1849 to Present Covers LB newspapers 1934-1975 and OC Register 1913-2016
Congressional Publications (Proquest), 1789 to Present Covers full text congressional documents, hearings, proceedings, serial set, reports and maps, covering all aspects of American government including history, politics, foreign affairs, exploration, presidential proclamations and executive documents.
- Dissertations and Theses Provides full text access to thousands of PhD dissertations back to the 1960s.
- Essay and General Literature Index Retrospective, 1900-1984 Identifies articles within books and selected serials. Covers a wide array of subjects: classics, history, folklore, political science, religion and other topics.
- Getty Images Contains thousands of journalistic and artistic images that can be viewed for free. Great for primary visual sources
- Global Newsstream Full text (text only) coverage of national and international news since 1980s.Handbook of Latin American History Online Produced by the Library of Congress, contains links (no full text) to scholarly journal articles and books, and book chapters..
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 Full text historic newspapers in Spanish and a few in English.
- Historical Los Angeles Times, 1881-1997 Complete full text online coverage of every article, ad, comic, classified, editorial, photographs.
- Historical New York Times, 1851-2017 Complete full text online coverage of the NYT.
- Historical Chicago Defender, 1905-1975 Full text African-American newspaper.
- History Vault 1810-1975 Full text documents on U.S history including Women's Studies, Vivil Rights, Indians and the American West, American Politics from Truman to Kennedy, Labor Unions and the Black Freedom Struggle.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective 1907-1983 Covers 1200 scholarly journals. Use it for finding coverage of worldwide events in the 20th Century
- Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press 1950 to Present Covers Los Angeles Free Press, Berkeley Barb and other "underground" newspapers .
- LGBT Magazine Archive 1950s-2015. Gay, Lesbian, Transgender popular magazines including the Los Angeles Advocate from 1969.
- LGBT Thought and Culture. 1900 to date. Archives, court documents, periodicals, newspaper content.
- JSTOR Journal Archive An archive of core scholarly full text journals going back to the 1800s. Contains selected journals in the social sciences and humanities.
- News Policy & Politics Magazine Archive 1918-2015 Popular magazines of the 20th Century including Newsweek.
- PsychInfo Psychological and behavioral research.
- Readers’ Guide Retrospective, 1890-1983 Covers popular magazines from 1890-1983. Good for finding popular coverage of historic events in the 20th Cent.
- SocIndex with Full Text Wide ranging scholarly index to interdisciplinary social science research.
- Sociological Abstracts Sociology research
Times (Of London) Digital Archive, 1789-2008. Full text online content of London Times, (Sunday Times excluded).
Citing Historical Materials
Google tips and techniques
- For word adjacency, phrases, put your topic in "quotation marks”
It is not needed for single word concepts.
- The asterisk* (truncation) won't work in GOOGLE. To get word variants you must use capitalized OR. See below.
To search for synonyms capitalize OR between each word and enclose in parenthesis
- Example ("mass marketing" OR "consumer behavior" OR consumerism)
To find sites at types of domains:
- site:edu (to find sites located at colleges, universities)
- site:org (to find sites at nonprofit organizations)
- site:gov (to find government sites, government documents)
- site:ru (stands for Russia. Use two letter country codes for domains in a country.
- Two letter country codes
- Use Google Scholar to find wide array of scholarly journal articles.
- Use Google Books to find research snippets in scanned books. If the book reads PREVIEW you are in luck! You may be able to read entire chapters.