Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Course Guides: History 499 Ocean History

Course Guides Used for Library Instruction in History Research

History 499 Ocean History

History 499; Ocean History, Library Resources (Spring 2020)

Greg Armento, History Librarian  greg.armento@csulb.edu

UNIVERSITY LIBRARY PAGE provides an overview of services available in the library.

ONE SEARCH Access to our 1.25 million University Library books, some over 500 years old.

Try searching these subject keywords, You’ll get items with higher relevancy relating to the oceans.

PACIFIC       PACIFIC AREA        PACIFIC OCEAN        PACIFIC RIM        OCEANIA        ATLANTIC OCEAN     INDIAN OCEAN   SEAFARING        OCEAN TRAVEL        MERCHANT SHIPS   

Also try names of seafaring countries, regions, islands, and features.

Here is a selection of  books relating to the non naval U.S History and the Pacific Ocean

BOOK AND JOURNAL LOANING OPTIONS FROM OTHER LIBRARIES

LINK+ To rapidly get books from other libraries that we don’t have or that are out.

BeachReach Our interlibrary loan service for journals not in LINK+.  

Both services described here

SPECIFIC CSULB HISTORY SUBJECT PAGES

World History

U.S. History

Ocean Studies and Marine Sciences

Primary History Sources

International Studies

Treaties (See also Maritime Law at this site)

THREE SEARCH TIPS

1. If you place an asterisk* at the end of a word, you will catch all word variants. So if you type in wordit will find: word or words or wordiness or wordy or wordsmithetc. (Don't use the * in a google search. It does not work there)

2. If you want to force word adjacency or find a phrase, such as "cargo ship*",  place your words in "quotation marks" as shown. With the asterisk* at the end, we'll find the phrase "cargo ship" or "cargo ships" or "cargo shipping"

3. If you want synonyms in a search, use capital OR; (ocean* OR seafar* OR trans-pacific)

 

RETROSPECTIVE DATABASES: CONTENT PUBLISHED OVER 100 YEARS AGO

America's Historical Imprints, 1620-1820. Full text books and pamphlets published in the U.S

America's Historical Newspapers. 1690-1870. Full text newspapers published in the U.S.

American Periodicals 1700-1940 Has full text facsimile access to over 1,100 popular and scholarly periodicals including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Colonial America 1606-1822 Primary Documents.

Congressional Publication (Proquest) 1789 to present. Full text hearings, Congressional documents, maps, reports.

EEBO. Early English Books Online 1473-1700. Full text books and pamphlets published in Britain..

Google News Archive Full text coverage of newspapers across the U.S from the1800s to the present, but with limited functionality as you cannot limit or sort articles by date.

Historical Los Angeles Times, 1881-1995  Full text online coverage of the L.A.T.

Historical New York Times, 1851-2009 Full text online coverage of the N.Y.T.

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective 1907 - 1983 Covers 1200 scholarly journal content.

JSTOR Online Journal Archive A full text archive of core scholarly journal literature in the social sciences and humanities dating back to the 1850s.  

Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890 -1983 Covers popular magazines from the period.

Times (Of London) 1790-2010. Excludes Sunday Times.

CURRENT RESEARCH DATABASES

To find the articles in databases, look for the GET IT @ CSULB link in each citation. It is a shortcut to the article online. If we don’t have the article in the building, or online use ARTICLE REACH To rapidly get journal articles we don’t have, from other libraries.

Academic Search Complete Accesses nearly 6000 journals. Provides comprehensive interdisciplinary coverage 1990 to date.

America History & Life (for U.S. History). And Historical Abstracts for World History. The premier periodical indexes for scholarly research in history. Article citations go back to the 1950s.

Dissertations and Theses  Provides full text access to thousands of PhD dissertations back to the 1960s.

‚ÄčHospitality and Tourism Complete. Articles on travel research.

MLA International Bibliography. Literary arts, cultural studies.

GOOGLE SEARCH TOOLS FOR FINDING SCHOLARLY INTERNET RESOURCES

Google google.com Search Tips--to find sites at types of domains: type in

Use domain stems to find sites in specific internet realms

  • site:edu (to find sites located at colleges, universities)
  • site:org (to find sites at nonprofit organizations)
  • site:gov (to find government sites, government documents)
  • site:ru (stands for Russia. Use two letter country codes for domains in a country.
  • Use this to identify two letter country codes
  • Put phrases in quotes to force word adjacency

Google Books  will allow you to read chapters of selected books. Look for READ OR PREVIEW options.

Google Scholar  to find scholarly journal articles. If you do this in the library, you may find full text articles you can open

CITATION STYLES & ZOTERO ASSISTANCE

Zotero & Citation Management Drop-In Workshops

Zotero, a plug-in connector compatible with Safari, Mozilla FireFox and Google Chrome browser, helps collect, organize and cite various bibliographic records. Workshops on Thursday, February 27, 2020 3:30pm - 4:30pm & Monday, March 9, 2020 12:00pm - 1:00pm. Both in Library 116, Spidell 1 Classroom.

See Zotero Instruction Guides.

STYLE MANUALS & CITATION METHODSLibrary Research Guide in a wide variety of citation methods